top of page
Search

Classic Amalfi Coast Pizza & Dessert in NYC

After more than two years, the margherita pizza (tomato pulp, mozzarella, pecorino, romano, basil) at Tramonti Pizza in the East Village of Manhattan remains in my top five (so far). They claim to use the ancient recipes from the village of Tramonti which has a super long history of pizza making. Like over 1000 years long. So they must know a thing or two about pizza. I appreciate their loyalty to these recipes and hope to return to try a pizza from their "untouchables" menu.



Although I rated their pizza high, it was my curiosity about a dessert they offer that brought me there. I had watched a video about their Classic Amalfi Coast dessert. It may not be something I rush back for, but it was certainly worth trying so it wins for one of the most unique desserts.



Melanzane Alla Chocolata is layers of fried eggplant in a dark chocolate sauce. The best way I can describe it is a chocolate eggplant lasagna. The egglplant has an odd texture for a dessert, but the fact that it is smothered in dark chocolate makes that an insignificant detail. The video below explains the long process of making this dessert. The time and care put into this process once again shows their faithfulness for preserving tradition and tasty goodness.



Pizza adventures await!


@tramontipizzanyc



55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page