top of page
Search

SUNDAY SPOTLIGHT - CHIMAMANDA NGOZI ADICHIE




Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie is a Nigerian author that I first heard about when I saw her TedTalk, The Danger of a Single Story. I have used it in my work because her message is excellent and is conveyed in a crystal clear, respectful way. It lead me to learn more about Adichie's writing. She is the author of six books; all of them award winning. We Should All Be Feminists was the first I read, in one sitting. I was in awe at how eloquently Adichie was able to describe thoughts and feelings that I've had and couldn't always, if ever, articulate.


Adichie's books show her passion for feminism and have encouraged and empowered people to have conversations about feminism that were not happening previously. She has a beautiful and brilliant way of using language and words to captivate. One can't help but think of things from a new perspective and in new ways. She is able to shine a light on a topic, that not only makes it come out of darkness, but she turns it in the light so that all of its sides and edges catch the light and it sparkles.


I am currently reading Americanah and hope to get to all of her books before too long. If you are just starting out, I suggest beginning with We Are All Feminists. If you are a parent, I highly recommend Dear Ijeawele, or a Feminist Manifesto in Fifteen Suggestions. Note: You do not have to be a parent to read this, it's good for everyone. I look forward to seeing what Chimamanda publishes next.


@chimamanda_adichie

8 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page