top of page
Search

The Good Lovelies

I am a little late in getting this blog out, but I had the opportunity to see The Good Lovelies at the end of September. They had been on my list for a few years now. I was introduced to them in 2017 by asking on a Facebook post what good Christmas music was out there. The Good Lovelies' Under The Mistletoe album was one of the gems I added to my collection that year. (Thanks Christine!)



The Good Lovelies is made up of a trio of Canadian women who are all singers, songwriters and musicians. Their harmonies are... whoa... incredible! Their music is mostly folk/country with a bit of jazz and pop thrown in. The concert I attended was in Grimsby, ON at one of my favourite spots, Station 1 Coffeehouse. It is a quaint venue. It has an informal feel to it like you could be in someone's living room. All three Lovelies, helped to create that atmosphere by sharing stories in between songs. Plus, they are very funny. Loved the humour.



Kerri Ough is originally from Port Hope, ON. Sue Passmore, from Cobourg, ON and Caroline Brooks is from Whitby, ON.

Ever since hearing their Christmas album, I have expanded my collection with their albums Winter's Calling, Let The Rain Fall, and Shapeshifters. They have others and Kerri Ough has a solo album that I still have to check out.


I would be remiss to not mention Christine Bougie, who plays guitar and lap steel guitar. She plays for many different musicians (Bahamas, Sarah Slean, etc.) and I have had the pleasure of seeing her a few times. She played with the Good Lovelies at this concert. Her rule: no singing! They consider her to be the fourth Lovely and she is the one constant on all of their albums when it comes to collaborating with other musicians.



Wishing you great music adventures!


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page