top of page
Search

A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini


A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini has affirmed for me that Khaled Hosseini is one of my favourite authors and I will read anything he writes. I had read Kite Runner years ago and thought that there was no way Hosseini could write another book that would make me feel the way that book did again. I was wrong.


This story comes full circle. From its first page right up until the end, I was captivated by this story. I felt like Hosseini captured my heart, held it gently in his hands, then threw it - SPLAT- on the floor. Then he would pick my wounded heart up, mend it, cherish it and throw it on the floor - SPLAT - again! This kept happening and I kept wanting to read more.


This story takes place in Afghanistan and is about two women, Mariam and Laila. Mariam lives with her mother, away from society. Mariam's life revolves around their tiny home. She does not go to school and she lives for Thursdays. Thursdays are when her father visits. Her father lives a very different life from Mariam and her mother. He shares stories with Mariam about his travels and the big city. Mariam's life changes drastically one day. She has to move away from everything and everyone she knows to marry an older man named Rasheed. Eventually, Rasheed and Mariam try to have a baby, but they are unsuccessful.


Laila, much younger than Mariam, has had a very different life. She was born and raised in Kabul to two loving parents, She has dreams of marrying her sweetheart, but when tragedy strikes she is taken in by Rasheed and Mariam.


Both women have lost everything and they need each other in order to survive. These remarkable women's stories are told with the backdrop of Afghanistan's politics and war. This is a story about relationships between mothers and daughters, motherhood, endurance, survival, love, dreams of oppressed women and the human spirit.


The writing is spectacular. Each character is developed so well and the story draws strong emotions from the reader.


This is another book for the "favourites" shelf.


Bookworm Rating: 🐛🐛🐛🐛🐛


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Winter by Ali Smith

Winter by Scottish author Ali Smith is the second book in her seasonal quartet. I loved the first book, Autumn and was eager to continue...

Comments


bottom of page