top of page
Search

Agatha Arch is Afraid of Everything by Kristin Bair


I really wanted to love this book. The alliteration is catchy and the cover is similar to Where'd You Go Bernadette which is a novel I really enjoyed. I read a review that also compared this to Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine which I loved, so I had high hopes.


The novel starts off with Agatha finding her husband having an affair with "their dog walker" in their shed. Agatha takes an axe and destroys the shed and by the way, they don't have a dog. This beginning showed me that there were going to be quirky characters. I love quirky characters. Agatha's sessions with her psychiatrist that she calls shrinky dink told me that there were some issues and a bit of humour. I love books with a bit of humour. The book then goes on to describe various ways Agatha starts spying on her husband and the dog walker. This had potential.


Unfortunately, it wasn't long into the book that the story no longer held my interest. The humour started to feel forced. I get that the title is that Agatha is afraid of everything, but after a while it became too unrealistic for me.


I also thought that maybe the audio would be helpful and make it come to life more. Soneela Nankani is the narrator and she was fine. It was the story for me that made it difficult to keep going back to this one.


Thank you to NetGalley and Dreamscape Media for the audio of this book.


Bookworm Rating: đŸ›đŸ›đŸŒ±

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Winter by Ali Smith

Winter by Scottish author Ali Smith is the second book in her seasonal quartet. I loved the first book, Autumn and was eager to continue...

Comments


bottom of page