top of page
Search

All The Acorns on the Forest Floor by Kim Hooper



I was so excited to have the chance to check this book out. All The Acorns on the Forest Floor by Kim Hooper is a collection of connected short stories and I really enjoyed it. First of all, the cover is gorgeous and the title has so much depth that it will stay with me for some time.


The stories are connected by theme and characters. The themes of marriage, parenthood and infertility are part of each story in some way. The joy and struggles of couples, parents and children and especially couples struggling to have children. The writing is beautiful and poignant. The stories are emotional and each one has strength on its own. As I read each individual story, I anticipated how the characters would be linked and was often pleasantly surprised that Hooper didn't take the most obvious character and gave us background into characters that didn't necessarily show their best sides. Rather, it showed us their humanity, their vulnerability and rawness.


This was a powerful read and one of my favourite collections of interconnected stories. So why 4.5 bookworms and not 5? The last story for me lost some of the momentum that was consistent throughout the book. The story wasn't bad by any means, I just felt that it veered a little off the path of the rest of the book.


This is Kim Hooper's fourth novel. It stole a piece of my heart and now I need to read her backlist.


Bookworm Rating: đŸ›đŸ›đŸ›đŸ›đŸŒ±


Thank you to NetGalley and Dreamscape Media for a free audio copy for an honest review. I thought that Hillary Huber did a fine job as a narrator.


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Winter by Ali Smith

Winter by Scottish author Ali Smith is the second book in her seasonal quartet. I loved the first book, Autumn and was eager to continue...

Comments


bottom of page