top of page
Search

Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery




This is one of my all time favourite classics. I love Anne (with an E) as a character and it doesn't hurt that it takes place in Canada, on our little province of Prince Edward Island. I am not a re-reader, but this is the third time I've read Anne of Green Gables and I loved it just as much, if not more, than the first time. My hope is to continue reading the entire series.


Anne's character, personality and love of life is what makes this book such a heartwarming story. As a young girl who has been orphaned, Anne is delighted when after a bit of a mix up, Matthew and Marilla Cuthbert agree to take her in. It doesn't take long for Anne to win them over and find a special place in their hearts.


Anne's hopes and dreams of finding kindred spirits, her dismay at her red hair, and her very large "scope for imagination" will quickly win over the hearts of all readers too. I love her kind heart. Her friendship with Diana Berry and her competitions with Gilbert Blythe. There are several moments when her good intentions turn into some crazy dramatics that cause her to be "in the depths of despair". One can't help but giggle.


Lucy Maud Montgomery has certainly created a memorable character and story. It only seems to gain popularity with new movies, new series, and new shows. It's definitely one that I never get tired of.


Bookworm Rating: 🐛🐛🐛🐛🐛


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Winter by Ali Smith

Winter by Scottish author Ali Smith is the second book in her seasonal quartet. I loved the first book, Autumn and was eager to continue...

ComentĂĄrios


bottom of page