top of page
Search

Artist Joshua Mangweshig Pawis-Steckley


Somehow the month of June went by without me knowing about this beautiful art. I know now and felt compelled to share it with all of you.


June was National Indigenous History Month and CBC had four authors create art that would send messages of care and hope for Indigenous youth. When I first saw these three pieces it took my breath away. I had to find out more about them and who created them.

Joshua Mangeshig Pawis-Steckley was one of the four atists selected to work with the CBC. He is an Ojibwe woodland artist and a member of Wasauksing, FN. He is originally from Barrie, ON and now lives in Vancouver, BC.


His work aims to promote and reclaim traditional Ojibwe stories and teachings, while modernizing the woodland style and bringing it into mainstream focus through a variety of mediums.


As these pieces are a message for youth, I hope Joshua's message of relearning Ojibwe history, stories, and teachings will be heard. The themes of remembering our history, protecting our earth, and healing are important for all of us in Canada.

This, the third in the series, is the first piece I saw and thought it was striking. As I learned more about Joshua and saw more of his work, I was astounded at the colourful and energetic images he creates. So much talent.


For more information about Joshua and to see his portfolio you can follow the link below.




20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page