top of page
Search

Rocky Mountain High Art

A year ago I took a road trip to Colorado, USA. After a 22 hour drive, with tunes blaring, I arrived in Denver ready to explore. There's a lot I could say about my time in Colorado. I have fond memories of the usual chocolate stores, book stores, pizza... and the music; the music was incredible, however, I will save that for another post. For now, I will focus on two things: the Denver Graffiti Tour and hiking my first (perhaps my only) 14er, Mt. Bierstadt.


If you appreciate art, even if you don't think you are a graffiti fan, I ask that you be open to at least hearing about this tour which is one of the best things I did while in Colorado. The Denver Graffiti Tour takes place in the River North (RiNo) art district, just north of downtown. During the two hour walking tour you learn about Denver's fascinating culture of street art, who the artists are and what the stories are behind the colourful murals. What is unique about this tour is that it not only gives you a sense of the art and culture, but also about gentrification in the area. At the very least you will never look at graffiti the same again and it's a great way to start your time in Denver. Plus, the market where this tour ends has some of the prettiest and tastiest chocolate I have ever had. More about that in another post.




If you are into art, but I haven't sold you on the graffiti tour, the mile high city will not disappoint. There are at least SEVEN other art districts to explore. The Golden Triangle district is home to the Denver Art Museum and Kirkland Museum of Fine and Decorative Art. In the Santa Fe art district you will find the very unique Clyfford Still Museum. Still was a contemporary of Rothko and Pollock, all of whom were among the first generation of abstract expressionist artists. I recommend this permanent museum because I don't think there is anything else quite like it.


https://www.kirklandmuseum.org/ @KirklandMuseumDenver @KirklandMuseum


 

Beyond the city one can enjoy the art of nature. Depending on the criteria used, there are 53-58 14ers in Colorado. Basically, a 14er is a mountain peak higher than 14,000 feet and I decided to hike one of them. If this is something you are thinking of doing, you need to be prepared by having the proper hiking equipment, proper clothing, snacks, water, and pay attention to the weather and your body. Elevation is no joke and some people, regardless of age and how healthy or fit they are, have severe reactions to the thin air. I had done some preparation with regard to acclimatizing myself and used google to search what was the easiest 14er to hike. There are various opinions on that too, but in the end, for a number of reasons and for better or worse, I chose Mt. Bierstadt which is 14,065ft. A great hike, a well used trail and a crazy climb the last 20 - 30 minutes to the summit when you are literally rock climbing and there is no trail. Well worth the views and the accomplishment.


Hiking Adventures Await!






20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page