top of page
Search

Big Fish by Daniel Wallace


Have you seen the movie? I saw the movie shortly after it first came out in 2003. My first reactions to the movie were, what is this and why am I watching it? By the end, I loved it. Fast forward to just a couple of years ago, I found out it was based on a book. Not sure how I missed that.


So I bought the book, it's a quick read; less than 200 pages and I figured I would read it when I needed something fun. While away at a cottage, I read the book in one sitting. It was more nostalgic for me because of the movie. It was like revisiting an old friend, but there were some differences and I wondered if I had remembered the movie correctly.


Both the movie and the book have quirky characters and far fetched stories. There are some things I like more about the movie, which as a book lover is hard for me to admit, since most times the book is better than the movie. There are also things I like more about the book, so I guess it evens out. The author definitely has an imagination and as the reader you have to be able to put reality aside in order to appreciate it.


If you can look beyond some of the implausible stories, the real story is about the love of a father and a son. Sometimes human beings don't always appreciate how we are loved by someone. When we can understand those we love, we can share that love with others.


After reading the book, I watched the movie again... it gets me every time.


Bookworm Rating: 🐛🐛🐛🐛

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Winter by Ali Smith

Winter by Scottish author Ali Smith is the second book in her seasonal quartet. I loved the first book, Autumn and was eager to continue...

Comments


bottom of page