top of page
Search

Bunny by Mona Awad


This is the first book I've read by Canadian Author, Mona Awad. I had been warned that it was quite different and they weren't kidding. This may be the strangest book, I have ever read.


This is Stephen King meets Mean Girls. It is horror meets fairy tale. It is bizarre. It is offbeat and peculiar. And it's compelling.


Samantha doesn't fit in with other people at Warren, an elite New England University. She especially doesn't like her four rich classmates who wear bright coloured dresses and call themselves and each other bunny. When Samantha is invited to one of their gatherings she has a choice to make. Does she go out of curiosity or the deep desire to fit in somewhere, anywhere? Maybe it's the workshops, that I'm hoping are like no workshop you've ever been to, that are addictive.


The writing is superb. Awad knows how to write dialogue and how to get your attention. I definitely want to read her other novels. There were several times that I had to remind myself that the four bunnies were adults. Sometimes I felt that they were 15 or 16 year old high school students. It was their maturity and attitude.


There were many surprising moments and in the end I'm not sure I understood it all. I do think that there were some topics that could be missed. I think this book is about loneliness and the incredible mechanisms of our minds. It also has a feminist message that as women we sometimes forget how talented and bright we already are by being ourselves without having to change for anyone else.


If you are into a story like Carrie needs a prom date so decides to go down the rabbit hole with Alice at the zoo and you are not offended by language, this might be a good read for you. It is definitely an interesting ride.


Bookworm Rating: đŸ›đŸ›đŸ›đŸŒ±



10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Winter by Ali Smith

Winter by Scottish author Ali Smith is the second book in her seasonal quartet. I loved the first book, Autumn and was eager to continue...

Comments


bottom of page