top of page
Search

Call of the Wild by Jack London


Another classic from my list and another one I wanted to read before seeing the movie that was released this year starring Harrison Ford, Call of the Wild is an adventure story.


This adventure story centers around a dog named Buck. Buck is stolen and then sold as a sled dog in Alaska. Just to be clear, I love dogs and I love Alaska, but I don't like stealing. Buck takes a lot of abuse, but he fights to survive and eventually meets John Thornton who shows him kindness. This is a story of survival, of the struggle within oneself to be true to oneself and a love story between a man and a dog.


I must warn you that there is violence and mistreatment of animals, especially in the beginning of the book. It's not easy to read and was quite emotional. The dogs that you meet will tug at your heartstrings. Unfortunately, it was also realistic, but in the end love prevails.


Many people consider this a children's story. I would not recommend this for young children and I don't think it was ever meant for young children. I would say thirteen and up.


Enjoy the adventure. Bookworm Rating: 🐛🐛🐛

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Winter by Ali Smith

Winter by Scottish author Ali Smith is the second book in her seasonal quartet. I loved the first book, Autumn and was eager to continue...

Comments


bottom of page