top of page
Search

Calypso by David Sedaris


Calypso by David Sedaris was a book club read and the first time I read a novel by this comedian. The book was written in short stories. All of the stories are about his family and yes, I did laugh out loud several times.

The stories range from heartbreaking with heavy themes like alcoholism, suicide, facing our own mortality and strained family relationships. Others are about shopping, travelling, conversations with strangers and funny predicaments we find ourselves in; they are entertaining and humorous. Somehow Sedaris manages to put these stories alongside each other and it works.


In our book club discussion we talked about how his humour wouldn’t be for everyone and some of the women felt that the humour is more appealing to men. That might be true, but I think you can probably say that about most people's humour. It might not be for everyone. I really liked this book and I do hope to read some of his earlier work because I’ve heard a lot of positive things about a few of his earlier novels.

Bookworm Rating: 🐛🐛🐛🐛


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Winter by Ali Smith

Winter by Scottish author Ali Smith is the second book in her seasonal quartet. I loved the first book, Autumn and was eager to continue...

Comentários


bottom of page