top of page
Search

Elevator Pitch by Linwood Barclay



Linwood Barclay was a new author to me in 2019. My online book club read another title and I knew almost immediately that he would become a favourite.


The first book I finished this year, was Elevator Pitch. I had heard Barclay speak about the book at the Toronto International Festival of Authors (TIFA) and you know how it goes... I was compelled to buy a copy of the book.


This book continued to solidify Barclay into the favourites category for me. First, the book takes place in New York City. I love NYC and I could imagine where they were, the places, the sights and the sounds. I read this book aloud to my mother over four days. The book is separated by days starting with Monday until Friday. An elevator accident happens on Monday. Horrible! But then another elevator accident happens again on Tuesday and so on... who is causing this and why?


Now, it also didn't help that we live in an apartment building and although I am capable of taking the stairs, my mother is not. We have not looked at elevators the same since. If there is someone on TV getting onto an elevator, we have shouted warnings to them.


There are some quirky, feisty and interesting characters. Some great one liners. There were also several times at the end of a chapter, my mother and I stared at each other with our mouths open wide in astonishment. We would take a few breaths, collect ourselves, maybe grab a snack from the kitchen and carry on. We had a few theories about "the who" and "the why" and came pretty close, but there were still some great surprises.


An enjoyable read and one that makes you consider just taking the stairs.


Bookworm Rating: 🐛🐛🐛🐛🐛

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Winter by Ali Smith

Winter by Scottish author Ali Smith is the second book in her seasonal quartet. I loved the first book, Autumn and was eager to continue...

Comments


bottom of page