top of page
Search

Emma by Jane Austen


"If a book is well written, I always find it short". - Jane Austen


This year, I am trying to read more classics so obviously, Jane Austen is on the list. Emma is my first Jane Austen novel and I would love to say that I could fit it into the quote above. I'm sure it's a well written book, I just struggled with it which made it seem to take way longer to read than it probably should have.


I think it's a case of, "it's not you, it's me". I know many people who love Jane Austen. Her books are their favourite. They relish in the language. Oh, how I admire them and want to be them, but alas, I am not. It took me a while to keep the characters straight and Emma Woodhouse was not a likable character for me, other than the fact that she was always trying to read more and was considered well read.


It took me a good half of the book at least, to get somewhat used to the language. I got the gist of the story with the differences between class and the love triangles that sometimes even made me chuckle. I felt for Harriet Smith, poor girl, but there were no characters that I was enamored with. Plus, I found there to be so many pages of unnecessary drivel like the entire chapter on the quality of air.


The film Emma, that came out earlier this year, will be my next crack at checking this story out. I still have several other Jane Austen classics on the list so we will see how it goes.


Bookworm Rating: 🐛🐛🐛

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Winter by Ali Smith

Winter by Scottish author Ali Smith is the second book in her seasonal quartet. I loved the first book, Autumn and was eager to continue...

Comments


bottom of page