top of page
Search

Five Feet Apart by Rachael Lippincott with Mikki Daughtry and Tobias Iaconis



Young Adult is not a go to genre for me. I know some readers who absolutely love YA and I will say that when I have read YA, for some reason I am surprised when I have enjoyed them. This read was no exception. I first heard of the movie and wasn't so sure about the plot. Then I saw the cover of the book and thought I had to check it out. The cover (the non-movie one) is gorgeous and loaded with significance. Now that I have read the book, I am ready to watch the movie; I believe the book was written with the movie in mind as Mikki Daughtry and Tobias Iaconis are screen writers who contributed to the novel.


Similar to The Fault In Our Stars by John Green, this story is about two teenagers, Stella and Will who are both in the hospital with a life threatening disease. They cannot come within six feet of each other because it could compromise their immune systems and could potentially be life threatening. Reading this in the time of social distancing made this even more real, although I'm not sure how accurate it is to people with cystic fibrosis in reality.


Because they have to be apart, Stella and Will are two young, star-crossed lovers who find ways, with a little help from their friends, to spend time together. It is endearing while also looking at heavier topics such as young love, death, grieving, facing our own mortality and friendship - Poe, he stole my heart!


I was worried that this would be too much like The Fault In Our Stars and was ready to not like it because of that, however, that didn't happen. There's similarities, but the characters and story line are different enough to stand on its own. It was a sweet and enjoyable read.


Bookworm Rating: 🐛🐛🐛🐛🐛






9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Winter by Ali Smith

Winter by Scottish author Ali Smith is the second book in her seasonal quartet. I loved the first book, Autumn and was eager to continue...

Comments


bottom of page