top of page
Search

Heart Berries: A Memoir by Terese Marie Mailhot



This is one of those books that I had heard so much about. It was on my TBR list last year and I never got to it. This book was long listed for Canada Reads in 2019 and it deserves all the accolades it received.


Another quick read with less than 135 pages, but don't let that fool you. Each page is raw and intense. The author, a first-nations woman tells her story through small essay-like stories, sharing her thoughts, memories and questions. So many sentences cut to the bone. For example, "In the shower, before I knew how to be scared or protect myself, I disappeared. Ten minutes of my life were enough to kill me".


It's vulnerable and risky. A risk, I am so glad Terese Marie Mailhot was willing to take. It is also a story of hope. We need more voices like hers.


I would put this book akin to Alicia Elliott's Essays in A Mind Spread Out On The Ground. If you have the time, put Heart Berries on your list of books to read in 2020.


Bookworm Rating: 🐛🐛🐛🐛🐛

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Winter by Ali Smith

Winter by Scottish author Ali Smith is the second book in her seasonal quartet. I loved the first book, Autumn and was eager to continue...

ComentĂĄrios


bottom of page