top of page
Search

Hench by Natalie Zina Walschots


Hench by Natalie Zina Walschots is a sci-fi, fantasy book with major comic book vibes and it is totally not my regular genre. If it wasn't on the Canada Reads shortlist, I would never have picked this up on my own.

Hench takes place in a world of villains and heroes and Anna is a Hench working as a temp. Eventually she ends up working for one of, if not the worst villain in the world.

This is just not my genre so I had a hard time getting into this story. That being said, it has so many things about it that I do like. Anna is an intelligent, bad ass main character. I always like that. The writing is quite good and there were some hilarious one liners. There are some gruesome and violent scenes that I was surprised how much they impacted me and I say that as a sign of excellent writing.


Enjoyability for me was quite low and I think it was because I just didn’t care what happened to the characters or in the story. I can see how people who enjoy marvel and action comics or movies would like this. It is told from an interesting perspective and it is very clever. I can certainly appreciate the writing and because of that I would consider reading more by Walschots.


Bookworm Rating: 🐛🐛🌱


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Winter by Ali Smith

Winter by Scottish author Ali Smith is the second book in her seasonal quartet. I loved the first book, Autumn and was eager to continue...

Comentários


bottom of page