top of page
Search

In Five Years by Rebecca Serle



"You mistake love. You think it has to have a future in order to matter, but it doesn't. It's the only thing that does not need to become at all. It matters only insofar as it exists. Here. Now. Love doesn't require a future."



This is the first book I have read by Rebecca Serle. I read this novel in one sitting and quite enjoyed it. It was a smooth read for me. I wanted to keep reading about Dannie and David and Bella and Aaron and New York City.


The novel begs the question: If you could, would you want to know your life in five years?


That's what happens to Dannie. She's a planner. She has her entire life planned out and so far everything is falling into place quite nicely. She knows that her boyfriend is about to propose to her, right on schedule, I might add.


After she's engaged, Dannie has a vivid dream, or some might say, a premonition. In the dream she gets a glimpse of her future life, an hour of it to be exact, but she is not with her brand new fiance.


So what does Dannie do? That's what the reader finds out.


I would not consider this a romance as some have suggested. It is not a light and fluffy read. The friendship between Dannie and Bella is ok. It's developed enough to care about them. Dannie and David's relationship was also not surprising. And what about Aaron? That's the whole question.


I made my predictions along the way and was wrong every time. I do like that! The end is also not what I would have thought, but I was satisfied with it.


If you had a glimpse of your future and it looked nothing like your present or how you had planned, how would it affect you?


Read this one to find out what happens with Dannie.


Bookworm Rating: 🐛🐛🐛🐛🐛

22 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Winter by Ali Smith

Winter by Scottish author Ali Smith is the second book in her seasonal quartet. I loved the first book, Autumn and was eager to continue...

3 Comments


They absolutely would have been!!! It was a thought provoking story for me. 😊

Like

wallyandpenny
May 22, 2020

In 2015, if anyone was asked what their life would be like in 5yrs, they ALL would have been wrong!!! Sounds like an interesting read.

Like

wallyandpenny
May 22, 2020

In 2015, if anyone was asked what their life would be like in 5yrs, they ALL would have been wrong!!! Sounds like an interesting read.

Like
bottom of page