top of page
Search

Jonny Appleseed by Joshua Whitehead


Jonny Appleseed by Joshua Whitehead is an important read for Canadians. I don’t know that using the word enjoyed is correct, but I am so glad I read it and I was delighted that it won Canada Reads 2021.


Jonny, the main character is an indigiqueer, 2 spirited man who lives off reserve and works as a cybersex worker. He is returning to the rez because his stepfather has died and we get flashbacks into Jonny’s life from childhood to the present. his struggles and where life has carried him. What I loved about the book is that it is a voice we rarely, if ever, hear about. I am quite unfamiliar with cybersex work and fetishes so this book allowed me to enter a world I would probably not find myself in. I loved Jonny’s relationship with his Kokum (grandmother). It was such an accepting and loving relationship. I loved that the writing made me feel Jonny’s emotions.


That’s why I feel the book is important. Jonny is a character who may not live like I do, look like I do, dress like I do… some of his outfits are described very well, but his life and story are just as valuable as mine and maybe more so because Jonny’s story hasn’t been told.


Bookworm Rating: 🐛🐛🐛🐛


11 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Winter by Ali Smith

Winter by Scottish author Ali Smith is the second book in her seasonal quartet. I loved the first book, Autumn and was eager to continue...

2 Comments


Chris Bateman
Chris Bateman
Apr 20, 2021

I bought this but have yet to read it. Thanks to your review I’m pulling it out now. Hopefully for this weekend!

Like
Replying to

I look forward to hearing what you think about it.

Like
bottom of page