top of page
Search

Lake Redstone by J.D. Hollyfield


Lake Redstone by J.D. Hollyfield. is basically a hire a boyfriend story. The main character Casey is looking forward to a girls weekend with her friends and it ends up becoming a couples weekend. Because Casey doesn’t have a boyfriend, she hires one.

His name is Jim and obviously he’s gorgeous and there is an instant connection. The couples all go to Lake Redstone for the weekend and Jim plays his part to perfection. He becomes friends with Casey’s friends and Casey is attracted to him and Jim is attracted to Casey. They try their best to keep this rouse up and not tell their friends, but things don’t go as planned.


Here’s what I didn’t like about this story: Casey is supposedly in her 30’s and I had to keep reminding myself of that. She seemed very immature to me and she seemed to have a hitting problem which if the tables were turned I don’t think it would be accepted at all and it seemed to be a trait that was often brought up. That was a bit annoying and the writing wasn’t exceptional in any way.


What I did like was that it had a good set up and I liked the setting and in the end it did all come together and left you with a good feeling which is what I imagine romance books to do.


A heads up that the sex scenes and language might not be for everyone.


Bookworm Rating: 🐛🐛


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Winter by Ali Smith

Winter by Scottish author Ali Smith is the second book in her seasonal quartet. I loved the first book, Autumn and was eager to continue...

Comments


bottom of page