top of page
Search

Medicine Walk by Richard Wagamese



If you've read some of my other reviews or blog posts, you already know that Richard Wagamese is one of my favourite authors so I was delighted when his novel, Medicine Walk was chosen for one of my book clubs in March 2020.


Let me start by saying that the writing is beautiful and eloquent. The prose drew me in immediately. The story itself is also beautiful, emotional and heartbreaking. It takes place in B.C. which is also close to my heart, however, it could have taken place elsewhere. The main character is Franklin Starlight. Franklin is sixteen and I took a liking to him right away. He has an old soul, some people would say, and he's not like most other sixteen year old boys.


He lives with The Old Man who I admired and had great respect for throughout the book. Then there's Eldon, who is Franklin's estranged father. A broken man, a struggling man, and a man who is dying. Eldon asks Franklin to take him on a walk. This isn't a stroll around the block or a hike in the woods. This is a difficult journey, physically, mentally and emotionally.


Throughout their journey we learn, along with Franklin, some of Eldon's story. We learn some of the joys and sorrows of the past. This journey is a journey of reconciliation, love, forgiveness, identity, sacrifice and hope. It's a journey that I feel honoured to have been a part of along side these characters.


If you get a chance, I highly recommend this book.


Bookworm Rating: 🐛🐛🐛🐛

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Winter by Ali Smith

Winter by Scottish author Ali Smith is the second book in her seasonal quartet. I loved the first book, Autumn and was eager to continue...

Comments


bottom of page