top of page
Search

Moon of the Crusted Snow by Waubgeshig Rice



This is the first book I read by Waubgeshig Rice. It is not the type of book I would normally gravitate to and it was not at all what I expected. Saying that, I'm not sure exactly what I was expecting, but it wasn't this... it caught me off guard, in a good way.


I knew that the novel was considered dystopia and/or post-apocalyptic. The thing is, it's done so subtly. Rice writes about a northern reservation in an authentic way. We learn of the hardships, the way of life, the challenges of weather and being isolated, the cost of food at the Northern. That's all very real. Those are genuine issues that exist today for many northern communities.


However, there is something in the writing that creates an atmosphere of suspense. Unlike what I think I imagined it would be, which was a more aggressive evil, that the community would have to face, that is done in a subtle way as well. There are no, "big bombs" or "earthquakes" as the character Tyler describes the end of the world. The evil is subtle too and even that has legitimacy to it.


I loved the wisdom of Aunt Aileen. Her teachings and words were, I think, what the book is all about. Her thoughts on "apocalypse" and the world changing are what our First Nations people have experienced over and over, and she offers hope.


Without giving anything away, I loved the ending. I kept wondering how it was all going to tie together and I thought it was beautifully done.


I look forward to reading more of Waubgeshig Rice!


Bookworm Rating: 🐛🐛🐛🐛

41 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Winter by Ali Smith

Winter by Scottish author Ali Smith is the second book in her seasonal quartet. I loved the first book, Autumn and was eager to continue...

2 comentarios


I would highly recommend it, Faith, especially if you are a dystopian fan. I would be interested in hearing what you think of it. 😊

Me gusta

Faith Williams
Faith Williams
12 ene 2020

i Love dystopian novels in the traditional sense. Your review sells it as non traditional yet I’m intrigued. I think I may add this one to my list. Thanks!

Me gusta
bottom of page