top of page
Search

SUNDAY SPOTLIGHT - TERRY FALLIS


Happy Sunday Book Lovers!


Canadians will be celebrating Canada Day on Wednesday so I thought I would choose a Canadian author to spotlight this Sunday. There are so many great Canadian writers. Many of them, I'm sure will be spotlighted here in coming weeks. For this Sunday, I chose Terry Fallis, author of seven novels.


Terry Fallis quickly became an auto-buy author for me. In a little more than eight years, my face to face book club has read three of Terry Fallis' novels beginning with his debut, The Best Laid Plans. This debut novel was published in 2007 and won Canada Reads in 2011. Our book club read it in 2013 and it was enjoyed by the entire group. It begins with Angus McLintock, an engineering professor who lets his name stand in a political election. The High Road, Fallis' second novel is a continuation of Angus McLintock's story. Up and Down is Terry Fallis' third novel and the second book our group read of his and loved. Up and Down was followed by No Relation, Poles Apart and One Brother Shy. His most recent novel, Albatross is what we talked about at our June book club. I reached out to Terry Fallis to see if he would be interested in joining our meeting and he very kindly agreed.


You will be able to read more about the book Albatross when my review is posted in a couple weeks. Since this is a spotlight on the author, I will say this, we were very excited to have Mr. Fallis join us and he was very generous with his time and with answering our questions. We asked questions specifically about the book, but also about his writing in general.


Fallis' humility and passion for writing was very evident as he spoke. We were honoured to have him show and tell us about his writing process. I love that he writes what he knows about, that he always has a message he wants to get across to his readers and he does so with Canadian humour. Don't just take it from me. Best Laid Plans won the Stephen Leacock Award in 2008 and No Relation won in 2015. I wouldn't be surprised if there is another one in the near future.


Like me, Terry Fallis is a fan of John Irving; he has learned from his writing style. Like one of his recent characters he has a love of fountain pens and during the pandemic he has been busy writing his next novel which he says is a comic thriller. Fans of Angus McLintock will be happy to see him return!


If you are looking for a good summer read, something that is light, but still has substance, a book that will make you laugh and you know there will be a happy ending, I strongly recommend a Terry Fallis novel.


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Winter by Ali Smith

Winter by Scottish author Ali Smith is the second book in her seasonal quartet. I loved the first book, Autumn and was eager to continue...

コメント


bottom of page