top of page
Search

The Chestnut Man by Søren Sveistrup; translated by Caroline Waight


The Chestnut Man by danish author Søren Sveistrup; translated by Caroline Waight is not for the faint of heart. This book grabbed me at the beginning but it did fizzle out a little for me.


The story takes place in Copenhagen where women are being found murdered, with their hand or hands chopped off, sometimes a foot. The murders are very violent and very gruesome. When the investigators are at the scenes of these murders they find little figures made out of chestnuts. Now they need to try and figure out how these murders are connected. When one of the chestnuts has a fingerprint on it they think this might help crack the case. The fingerprint is of a girl who went missing a year before and who is presumed dead.


There’s a lot of tension between the two investigators as they try to solve these cases and there are a few twists along the way. It’s definitely a chilling psychological thriller and part police procedural. If that’s something that you like then this definitely has all of those elements.


For me, I just thought it was too long. I thought that a few chunks of the book weren’t really relevant to the story and could have been taken out, but I’m glad I read it and I would be open to reading more from this author.


Bookworm Rating: 🐛🐛🐛🌱

14 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Winter by Ali Smith

Winter by Scottish author Ali Smith is the second book in her seasonal quartet. I loved the first book, Autumn and was eager to continue...

2 Comments


Thanks Chris. The premise is very intriguing. Let me know if you choose to read it.

Like

Chris Bateman
Chris Bateman
Feb 04, 2021

The premise for the story sounds really interesting. Thanks for the honest review. 👍👍👍

Like
bottom of page