top of page
Search

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas


The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas was my book club’s pick for December. It is a YA book inspired by the Black Lives Matter Movement.


I'm a late comer to this novel, but I am so glad I finally read it. This book made me feel so many things. One minute I was laughing, the next it made me angry. 16 year old Starr is the main character and she was amazing. She goes to a fancy prep school but lives in a poor neighbourhood and struggles with how she has to be two different people in these environments. I love her character, personality, and sense of humour. Her character and all of the characters are brilliantly written.


Starr witnesses two of her friend get shot. One is a drive by shooting when she's ten and Khalil when they are stopped by the cops and the police office shoots him. Starr becomes a key witness of what happened with Khalil and only she can tell the truth but if she does, it puts her and her family at risk.


There are so many important topics in this book like racism, systemic racism, marriage and identity.


The prequel comes out later in 2021 and I look forward to reading it.


Bookworm Rating: 🐛🐛🐛🐛🐛


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Winter by Ali Smith

Winter by Scottish author Ali Smith is the second book in her seasonal quartet. I loved the first book, Autumn and was eager to continue...

Comments


bottom of page