top of page
Search

The Night Olivia Fell by Christina McDonald


The Night Olivia Fell by Christina McDonald is a suspense mystery. I really liked the premise of this novel. The book starts with Abi Knight getting a phone call. There has been an accident. Her daughter Olivia is in the hospital and has irreversible brain damage from a fall and they can’t turn off life support because Olivia is pregnant.


What I loved most about this story was how it was told by alternating narrators. Abi was telling the story in the present. She was looking to the past to try and figure out what had happened and get answers to questions like: who is the father of Olivia's baby and who did this to her daughter. Olivia gives the story from 6 months before the accident leading up to what happened so their stories kind of meet in the middle.


I thought the characters were very well developed. Olivia’s best friend, I thought was a mean girl. Her boyfriend, was a nice enough guy. Her relationship with her mother had it’s issues but was also fairly normal. What Olivia really wants to know is who her father is and her mother keeps secrets from her. Then one day there's someone who looks just like her. They have the same face.


I suspected everyone at some point or other, which is what I usually do, but I honestly thought it was someone else so I didn’t figure this out. Some of the story may seem a bit implausible, but I was able to suspend judgement for that and go with it. I thought it was a good page turner that kept my interest.


Bookworm Rating: 🐛🐛🐛🐛🌱





13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Winter by Ali Smith

Winter by Scottish author Ali Smith is the second book in her seasonal quartet. I loved the first book, Autumn and was eager to continue...

Comments


bottom of page