top of page
Search

FRIDAY FEATURE - Anne of Green Gables


It's Friday already. How did that happen? I'm excited because it's the beginning of summer break.


For this Friday Feature I thought I would share one of my favourite classics. Anne of Green Gables by Lucy Maud Montgomery is one of the very few books I've read more than once.


I was first introduced to this story through the movie with Megan Follows. I didn't read the book until my second year of university in the late 90's. Anne's character is one of my favourites of all time. I love her imagination, her charm, her desire for friendship and having a bosom friend, her devastation when she messes up and when she finds herself in the "depths of despair".


Anne of Green Gables was first published in 1908. Over 100 years later, the story still resonates with readers of all ages. There have been movies and tv series that audiences have enjoyed. This year, I am hoping to read the entire series, something I have yet to do.


The picture above shows some of my collection of Anne of Green Gables. Some editions are in Spanish, German, and Japanese. This Canadian story is loved by many throughout the world. The box set and the Anne figure were gifts from my Dad. He bought them for me when we went on an adventure to the east coast and visited Green Gables in Prince Edward Island. He knew how much I loved Anne and he said he was buying a redhead for his redhead.


If you get a chance to visit Green Gables, I highly recommend it. The house is exactly what you would imagine and the woods and grounds are gorgeous. Until then, I strongly recommend reading or rereading the book about a little orphan girl who changes the lives of everyone she meets.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page