top of page
Search

FRIDAY FEATURE - CANADA READS


Next week the Canada Reads debates start after a lengthy wait. I am so excited that I thought I would feature the five books on the short list for 2020.

From The Ashes by Jesse Thistle

Radicalized by Cory Doctorow

Son of a Trickster by Eden Robinson

We Have Always Been Here by Santa Habib

Small Game Hunting at the Local Coward Gun Club by Megan Gail Coles

This year's short list is two memoirs, a YA coming of age story, an intense #metoo novel and four short stories. Which one will win to be deemed the book that all of Canada should read for 2020? Personally, I think this pretty much every year, that a case can be made for the entire long list of around 15 books. I love that Canada has a competition like this that promotes Canadian authors, Canadian stories and encourages Canadians to read.


There are several ways of watching the debates next week. Check out the link here:




I have read 4/5 and hope to get the last one in before Monday. I think I can do it. I am also very excited to be discussing the debates and the books with four other women from the US and Canada. Perhaps you have seen our promo video that I posted a few days ago. Each night at 7pm EST, we will be talking about what happened for about half an hour If you watch us live, and we hope you do, you will have an opportunity to win some Canada Reads swag by commenting during the conversation.


You can watch us live on Canada Reads American Style YouTube Channel.

We hope you join us and may the best book win!


Check it out here at 7pm EST, July 20-23:








10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page